Blogia
antirock

The Nivens (edita Firestation Records)

The Nivens (edita Firestation Records)

The Nivens - From a northumbrian minig village comes the sound of summer FST 062

19-track CD album

Release date: 12.05.06

tracklist:

Yesterday, I hope you’ll always be my friend, Tidal waves, Tales from a dufflebag, Christie Norden, It’s true, Summertime, San Francisco, Judy Garland, Let loose of my knee, Sweet adolscent, Room without a view, Beautiful, It’s necessity for spastics in 20th century culture, Northumberland, I love me, Sweet adolscent (wah wah remix), I love me (TV remix), It’s true (outro)

 

It’s such a big pleasure for me to release this compilation-cd by simply one of the best Bands ever from the so called C86 scene. The Nivens were around between 1987 – 1990. During that time they had three releases on the legendary Woosh label, including such classics as “Yesterday” or “Northumberland”.  “From A Northumbrian Mining Village Comes The Sound Of Summer” feat. all these songs plus tracks recorded for their only Demotape.

 

All these brilliant songs bring back memories of drunken nights at a friends place. We always played The Nivens then and danced in my friends rooms.

 

It also reminds me of the summerholidays spending in Great Britain. I first heard “Yesterday” while buying records in a shop nearby Hastings. Unfortunately the seller didn’t seems to like my face, so he decided not to sell his last copy to me. Instead I bought “Yesterday” a day later from a shop in London.

 

In the early 90ies me and a friend had a discussion about what was the best flexidisc ever released. We never shared the same favourites but this night we agreed to each other that the winner is “Let Loose Of My Knee” by The Nivens.

 

While listen to the album I noticed that a song like “Christie Norden” still means everythings to me.  

 

Uwe Weigmann 09.02.2006  

0 comentarios