Blogia
antirock

Television Personalities - Are we nearly there yet

Television Personalities - Are we nearly there yet Aha!" the doubters and cynics sing... "We smell cash £££ in another dodgy batch of outtakes and fillers!" Far from it! The story behind this compilation goes back a very long way... After a long 8 year sabbatical the TELEVISION PERSONALITIES came back to life. Dan Treacy, the man behind the TVP's, sat on a prison boat in late 2004. The band THE BASKERVILLES arranged a benefit gig in New York in lieu of Dan's release from prison. They raised over £1,000 with the stipulation that Dan Treacy went back into the studio. So, in the summer of 2005 he went into Soup Studios in North London with engineer and producer Simon Trought. This CD was the culmination of those sessions. The glorious 2006 comeback album "My Dark Places" on Domino Records was recorded just after this sessions with the same producer. "The cover versions ("If I Should Fall Behind" - Bruce Springsteen, "Mr Brightside" - The Killers) are simply songs that I love, that move me, that make me laugh... I'm as proud and disappointed of this CD as anything I've ever done... And here's Debbie with the weather." - Dan Treacy

0 comentarios