Blogia
antirock

Breve entrevista con Johan Angergård

Breve entrevista con Johan Angergård

De http://www.indie-mp3.co.uk/

 Concerning one of your projects, called The Legends, the songs as well as the production feels very different from album to album. Is the final outcome something that you have in mind before you even write the songs, or something that you figure out along the way?

Yes, I decide that before I write the songs. The album work starts when I've written a new song which I feels, well, really new for me. A great song with a sound that inspires me and that can lead the direction of all the other songs. Those songs were "Everything you say" (Up against the Legends), "Air" (Public Radio") and "Play it for today" (Facts and figures). After I finished the two first albums I felt there was not more to do in that particular musical style and felt I needed to change style all completely to keep it fun and inspiring. I want to keep that nice beginners feeling when I make music. Professionalism is music's worst enemy. I'm new at electronic music though so I don't think I'm finished with this quite yet.


3. This year it is 20 years since NMEs C86 was given away for free with an issue of their magazine. What is your relation to the music on this cassette and what to you put into the term C86?

The cassette was important because it defined a musical style for me. I discovered bands like McCarthy, Wolfhounds and Shop Assistants before I heard about C-86, loving them all of course, but C86 reference made it easy to discover more bands in the same style. The cassette itself really wasn't that good though.

4. Finally, please feel free to update us a little bit about on what you are working with right now.

I'm working on a new Club 8 album now. It's been a long time since we last released something so it's a bit of a comeback album it feels like. We've recorded 5 songs so far and I think it's the best stuff we've ever done.


My Favorite:

band on the c86tape: McCarthy

song ever: The Smiths "I know it's over"

instrument: Juno 106, Tambourine or Rickenbacker 330. Depends on my mood!

film: Manhattan (Woody Allen)

0 comentarios