Blogia
antirock

El Gurú habla

El Gurú habla

Extractos de la entrevista a Bob Stanley para Pitchforkmedia.com

 

ECLIPSE RECORDS   Some ideas that we've come up with are a 10cc box set and a Billy Fury box set.I think with every batch that we put out there's going to be a Complete A and B Sides. There should be a Billy Fury one. We've got the Impressions, the Shangri-Las, Scott Walker, Richie Havens... 

PROYECTOS  We're writing a soundtrack for that that's going to include probably half a dozen songs-- so the soundtrack will effectively be a new album. We're working on that at the moment. We haven't got a name for the film yet but it will have, like, six regular pop songs in it as well as an instrumental score.  

THE CD86 COMPILATION  It's just from being a collector really. The C86 thing, it just seemed like the [20th] anniversary was going to come and go without anyone doing anything. It's funny because now [my involvement] with it makes it seem like it's my favorite genre of music that ever happened, which it isn't.

I've just got so many friends that I'm very close with now who I met at that time and through that scene. I think it really was a coming together of a generation of people of a certain bend-- although whether the actual music or the fanzines or anything that came out was of immense worth is doubtful. I think, certainly, a whole generation of music writers came out of it. A lot of friendships were made. I was upset about it, but it was a very political movement-- but with a small "p." There was a lot of fight against it. It felt like the future of pop music was at stake at the time, it really did.
 

BOB STANLEY PERIODISTA Mostly I write for The Times, which is good because The Times' music section is probably the least read music section of any paper in Britain [laughs]. They came after me first. They let me do stuff on books and architecture and other things that lets me spread out instead of writing just about music. That's who I've been writing for mainly. And occasionally for Mojo and a bit or two for The Guardian.

Occasionally I'll also do sleeve notes. I'm doing sleeve notes for an
Anne Briggs reissue now. Sony asked me to do it for The Time Has Come, which is coming out again, with no bonus tracks or anything. It's been deleted for a while, which I didn't even know. It's a weird thing where the CD is going for 50 or 60 quid on eBay! 

(Aquí se puede consultar la entrevista al completo http://www.pitchforkmedia.com/article/news/40166/Saint_Etiennes_Stanley_Talks_Label_Films_Music )

 

0 comentarios